Winemakers of his region

Discover all our winemakers

Château Belles-Graves

(1 rating)

Château Belles-Graves offers a beautiful view of the Barbanne valley and the vineyards of Saint-Emilion and Pomerol. It is located on a clayey-gravelly hillside facing due south. The beautiful 18th century U-shaped Chartreuse is said to have sheltered Prosper Mérimée, and closer to us, has regularly welcomed a famous member of the family, Commander Jacques-Yves Co...

Lire plus Learn more

(33) Gironde

Château Belles-Graves offers a beautiful view of the Barbanne valley and the vineyards of Saint-Emilion and Pomerol. It is located on a clayey-gravelly hillside facing due south. The beautiful 18th century U-shaped Chartreuse is said to have sheltered Prosper Mérimée, and closer to us, has regularly welcomed a famous member of the family, Commander Jacques-Yves Cousteau, a great wine lover. The vineyard follows the principles of sustainable agriculture, combining an organic approach to treatments. Mechanical soil maintenance is adapted to climatic conditions. The control of yields allowed by Guyot pruning allows a yield of between 45 and 50 hectolitres per hectare. In this spirit and when it is necessary to do so, this pruning is completed by disbudding in spring, and possibly green harvesting in June. Finally, thinning out the leaves during the summer allows optimal ripening at harvest time.

Our story

Jean Theallet bought the property in 1938 in order to turn it into a wine estate that would become a family estate since he then passed it on to his son, then grandson. Currently, Xavier Pithon is the owner of the domain. With a desire for sharing and conviviality, he decided to diversify by developing wine tourism so that visitors could stay on his estate.

Other little stories

The mechanization of the harvest allows us to harvest at the best time. The grapes are sorted three times: once on the harvesting machine, then a second time at the estate on a mechanical sorting table and finally by hand for a final inspection. After crushing, the grapes are put into vats. The vinification remains traditional in thermo-regulated vats, with controlled oxygenation. After maceration for 4 to 5 weeks, the wines are aged for 12 to 15 months in oak barrels. The assembly is carried out at the end of the ageing process. Any fining is done with egg white before bottling, which is done entirely at the estate.

Ten years ago, we started working in bed and breakfast. We therefore receive many visitors during the year from different places with whom we share the passion of our profession and the beauty of the site. This diversification has allowed us to meet new people and share our knowledge.

Buy Wines Directly from the Winegrower

21€10
Château Belles-Graves
 2 reviews
2013, Bordeaux - Lalande-de-Pomerol
Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  

Book Visits and Wine Tastings at the Vineyard

Guided tour of the estate and tasting
1h30  |  from 2 to 16 | 7€00 / Adulte
lesgrappes.com utilise des cookies
Learn more

Les vignerons de sa région

Découvrez tous nos vignerons

Château Belles-Graves

Le Château Belles-Graves offre un beau point de vue sur la vallée de Barbanne etles vignobles de Saint-Emilion et Pomerol. Il est situé sur un coteau argilo-graveleux orienté plein sud. La belle Chartreuse en U du XVIIIème siècle, aurait abrité Prosper Mérimée, et plus près de nous, a accueilli régulièrement un célèbre membre de la famille, le Commandant Jacques-Yves Co...

Lire plus En savoir plus

(33) Gironde

Le Château Belles-Graves offre un beau point de vue sur la vallée de Barbanne etles vignobles de Saint-Emilion et Pomerol. Il est situé sur un coteau argilo-graveleux orienté plein sud. La belle Chartreuse en U du XVIIIème siècle, aurait abrité Prosper Mérimée, et plus près de nous, a accueilli régulièrement un célèbre membre de la famille, le Commandant Jacques-Yves Cousteau, grand amateur de vin. Le vignoble suit les principes de l’agriculture raisonnée, en y associant une approche biologique pour les traitements. L'entretien mécanique des sols et adapté aux conditions climatiques. La maîtrise des rendements permise par la taille en Guyot permet un rendement compris entre 45 et 50 hectolitres par hectare. Dans cet esprit et lorsqu'il est nécessaire de le faire, cette taille est complétée par un ébourgeonnage au printemps, et éventuellement des vendanges vertes en juin. Enfin, l’effeuillage dans le courant de l’été permet une maturation optimale au moment des vendanges.

La petite histoire

Jean Theallet acheta la propriété en 1938 afin d'en faire un domaine viticole qui deviendra un domaine familiale puisqu'il l'a transmit ensuite à son fils, puis petit-fils. Actuellement, Xavier Pithon est le propriétaire du domaine. Avec une envie de partage et de convivialité, il a décidé de se diversifier en développant l'oenotourisme pour que les visiteurs puissent loger sur son domaine.

Anecdotes du domaine

La mécanisation de la récolte permet de vendanger au meilleur moment. Le raisin est trié trois fois: une première fois sur la machine à vendange, puis une seconde fois au domaine sur une table de tri mécanique et enfin, à la main pour un contrôle final. Après un foulage, le raisin est mis en cuve. La vinification reste traditionnelle en cuves thermo régulées, avec une oxygénation sous contrôle. Après des macérations de 4 à 5 semaines, les vins sont élevés pendant 12 à 15 mois en barriques de chêne. L’assemblage est réalisé en fin d’élevage. Le collage éventuel est réalisé au blanc d’oeuf avant la mise en bouteilles, qui se fait entièrement au domaine.Il y a 10 ans, nous nous sommes lancés dans les chambres d’hôtes. Nous recevons donc pendant l'année beaucoup de visiteurs venant de différents endroits avec qui nous partageons la passion de notre métier et la beauté du site. Cette diversification nous a permit de rencontrer de nouvelles personnes et ainsi de partager nos connaissances.

Achetez vos Vins en Direct

21€10
Château Belles-Graves
2013, Bordeaux - Lalande-de-Pomerol
Chargement en cours...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Ajouter  

Réservez vos Visites et Dégustations

Visite guidée du domaine puis dégustation
1h30  |  de 2 à 16 | 7€00 / Adulte
lesgrappes.com utilise des cookies
En savoir plus