Winemakers of his region

Discover all our winemakers

Chateau Loirac Cru Bourgeois

Château Loirac is a wine estate in the Médoc, a registered designation of origin, in the commune of Jau Dignac and Loirac. The first parcels of vines were planted in 1987 and the vineyard is located on two gravelly hills (sandy gravel and thin soils), 6 km west of the Estuary, and 15 km from the Atlantic Ocean. The proximity of the Gironde and the....

Lire plus Learn more

(33) Gironde

Château Loirac is a wine estate in the Médoc, a registered designation of origin, in the commune of Jau Dignac and Loirac. The first parcels of vines were planted in 1987.

The vineyard is located on two gravelly hills (sandy gravel and thin soils), 6 km west of the Estuary, and 15 km from the Atlantic Ocean. The proximity of the Gironde and the sea provides a unique climatic clemency: the incidence of tides, combined with windy periods and the action of the sun, favour the establishment of the vineyard.

Its area planted in production is 15 hectares, to which are added 2 hectares in plantation, for a total area of 23 hectares. The average age of the plants is 20 years.

In this marshy region of "mattes" (heavy and clayey soils), the vineyard emerges on the only gravelly sandy ridges scattered in islets rising up to fourteen metres above sea level. Thus, the texture and geographical location of the soils induce a natural drainage necessary for a regular and homogeneous vegetative growth of the vine.

The production of Château Loirac wines is the result of sparing choices: low vigour rootstocks, strict pruning "in double Guyot", and the search for harmony between the grape varieties.

With a grape variety composed of 35% Merlot Noir, 60% Cabernet Sauvignon and 5% Petit Verdot, the vineyard produces about 80,000 bottles each year.

Our story

The history of Château Loirac goes back to the arrival of the Dutch in Bordeaux to develop the trade and export of wine. Built near the Gironde estuary and the sea, Château Loirac is a Médoc wine estate, a registered designation of origin, in the commune of Jau Dignac and Loirac.

Left abandoned after the Second World War, Château Loirac was taken over in 1987 by friends who were passionate about wine and viticulture. That same year, the first parcels of vines were planted. Since then, the founders have endeavoured to improve and equip the production site to make Château Loirac a friendly place to produce a great wine. The estate has grown over the years with the acquisition of new plots. Today, the average annual production reaches 80,000 bottles. From the cellar to the colombière, all the buildings have been renovated in accordance with the architecture of the Médoc by local craftsmen.

In 2015, the forge adjoining the colombière was converted into a charming gîte.

Other little stories

The two seahorses, present on the coat of arms of Loirac, remind the castle of its location between the sea and the estuary. Hanging in the cellar, this duo of seahorses reflects the image of a little one who knows how to stand out while keeping his rhythm. For us, it is the symbol of elegance and serenity.

lesgrappes.com utilise des cookies
Learn more

Les vignerons de sa région

Découvrez tous nos vignerons

Chateau Loirac

Le Château Loirac est un domaine viticole du Médoc, appellation d’origine contrôlée, sur la commune de Jau Dignac et Loirac. Les premières parcelles de vignes ont été plantées en 1987.Le vignoble est situé sur deux croupes graveleuses (graves sableuses et sols maigres), à 6 km à l’Ouest de l’Estuaire, et à 15 km de l’Océan Atlantique. La proximité de la Gironde et de la...

Lire plus En savoir plus

(33) Gironde

Question
Plusieurs cuvées vous intéressent ?
Le vigneron offre la livraison dès 6 bouteilles (d’une ou plusieurs références).
Voir tous nos engagements

Le Domaine

Le Château Loirac est un domaine viticole du Médoc, appellation d’origine contrôlée, sur la commune de Jau Dignac et Loirac. Les premières parcelles de vignes ont été plantées en 1987.

Le vignoble est situé sur deux croupes graveleuses (graves sableuses et sols maigres), à 6 km à l’Ouest de l’Estuaire, et à 15 km de l’Océan Atlantique. La proximité de la Gironde et de la mer apporte une clémence climatique unique : l’incidence des marées, combinée aux périodes venteuses et à l’action du soleil, favorisent l’implantation du vignoble.

Sa superficie plantée en production est de 15 hectares, auxquels s’ajoutent 2 hectares en plantation, pour une superficie totale de 23 hectares. L’âge moyen des plants est de 20 ans.

Dans cette région marécageuse de « mattes » (sols lourds et argileux), le vignoble émerge sur les seules croupes de sable graveleux disséminées en îlots s’élevant jusqu’à quatorze mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer. Ainsi, texture et situation géographique des sols induisent un drainage naturel nécessaire pour une pousse végétative de la vigne, régulière et homogène.

L’élaboration des vins du château Loirac découle de choix parcimonieux : porte-greffes de faible vigueur, taille stricte « en Guyot double », recherche d’une harmonie entre les cépages.

Avec un encépagement composé à 35% de Merlot Noir, à 60% de Cabernet Sauvignon, et à 5% de Petit Verdot, le vignoble produit chaque année environ 80.000 bouteilles.

La Petite Histoire

L’histoire du château Loirac remonte à l’arrivée des Hollandais en bordelais venus développer le commerce et l’exportation du vin. Edifié à proximité de l’estuaire de la Gironde et de la mer, le Château Loirac est un domaine viticole du Médoc, appellation d’origine contrôlée, sur la commune de Jau Dignac et Loirac.

Laissé à l’abandon après la Seconde Guerre Mondiale, le Château Loirac est repris en 1987 par des amis passionnés de vins et de viticulture. Cette même année, les premières parcelles de vignes sont plantées. Depuis lors, les fondateurs se sont attachés à améliorer et équiper le site de production pour faire du Château Loirac un lieu convivial et propice à l’élaboration d’un grand vin. Le domaine s’agrandit au fil des années avec l’acquisition de nouvelles parcelles. Aujourd’hui, la production moyenne annuelle atteint 80.000 bouteilles. Du chai à la colombière, tous les bâtiments ont été réhabilités dans le respect de l’architecture du Médoc par des artisans locaux.

En 2015, la forge attenante à la colombière est aménagée en gîte de charme.

Anecdotes du domaine

Les deux hippocampes, présents sur le blason de Loirac, rappellent au château sa situation entre la mer et l’estuaire. Accroché dans le chai, ce duo d’hippocampes reflète l’image d’un petit qui sait se démarquer tout en gardant son rythme. Il est pour nous le symbole de l'élégance et de la sérénité.

lesgrappes.com utilise des cookies
en savoir plus