Winemakers of his region

Discover all our winemakers

Domaine du Closel

A domain run by a lineage of winegrowers

Evelyne de Pontbriand's vines are located on slopes perpendicular to the Loire, which benefit from a remarkable southwest exposure. The nature of the soil is complex and perfectly suited to producing great wines. The soils are composed of green and purple shales, magmatic rocks and sandstone. The vines are on warm and shallow soils. The notebook....

Lire plus Learn more

(49) Maine-et-Loire

Evelyne de Pontbriand's vines are located on slopes perpendicular to the Loire, which benefit from a remarkable southwest exposure. The nature of the soil is complex and perfectly suited to producing great wines. The soils are composed of green and purple shales, magmatic rocks and sandstone. The vines are on warm and shallow soils. The specifications of the AOC Savennières impose very qualitative rules regarding cultivation and harvesting (Chenin is the only authorised grape variety, manual harvesting is carried out meticulously by selection and yields are very low). The work that is done on the estate and certified by Ecocert and Demeter focuses on biological balance and respect for the rhythms of nature. The soil life is respected thanks to the ploughing and grassing of the vines. As a result, soil microorganisms are active, allowing maximum exchange between the soil and the vine. It is thanks to this combination that we obtain the famous terroir effect.

Our story

The Château des Vaults was built in the 17th century and enlarged in the 19th century. The estate belonged to families of the upper middle class of Angers, then to the Fourmond Desmazières family. Louise Fourmond Desmazières, without children of her two husbands Viscount Walsh and Monsieur de Chamelier, bequeathed the property to the Marquis de Las Cases (grandson of Napoleon's biographer), for his eldest daughter who married Bernard du Closel. Since then, Château des Vaults and its vineyards have been managed by the descendants of Marque de Las Cases-du Closel. Michèle Bazin de Jessey developed the vineyard and created the company: Les vins du Domaine du Closel with which she associated her two children. Today, his daughter, Evelyne de Pontbriand, is at the head of the estate. This woman's dynasty is a rather rare phenomenon in the world of wine!

Other little stories

Being a winegrower in Savennières is for me a mission to support the vine that in this magical place is capable of producing the greatest white wines in the world. It is a very great responsibility and it requires an ability to listen, to question and to take into account nature, which are all very demanding attitudes. Being a winegrower in Savennières means putting nature at the centre of the world every day and serving the vine that is Vitis Vinifiera, to bring it with the greatest respect to produce, something it would never produce in the wild. It is not a question of domesticating it, nor of taming it, but of sublimating it. The grapes it offers us in October are pressed with the greatest care and produce a juice of a beautiful golden colour that will evolve at its own pace in large Burgundy barrels under the effect of oxygen that we let penetrate at homeopathic doses. The fine lees that formed during fermentation and the subtle tannins of the oak protect the must, which will gradually transform into a refined, elegant wine, gradually revealing mysteriously the aromas of citrus fruits, white flowers and pears with great bitterness that are the companions of great fish, lobster and asparagus. I don't have a guru but I deeply love a man of taste who makes me want to do better every morning, to go ever further towards excellence, towards the impossible... With a literary background, I am passionate about music, gardens, and taste. A fervent supporter of the notion of terroir wines, i.e. "vins de lieu", I like to quote Jacques Puisais: "The wine must have the mouth of the place and the guts of man... At the bottom of the glass, I want to find the landscape of the place where I am. "When we were children, we drank with delight the half-empty glasses left by my grandparents' guests who always received with great wines, a lovely table and delicious dishes... the world of wine that I frequent is magnificent, there are very beautiful people, who work tirelessly to produce artistic, gustatory and cultural pleasure for others.

Buy Wines Directly from the Winegrower

13€15
Domaine du Closel
2013, Loire - Anjou
Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  
20€30
Domaine du Closel
2011, Loire - Vin de France
Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  
27€45
Domaine du Closel
2015, Loire - Savennières
Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  
33€55
Domaine du Closel
2015, Loire - Savennières
Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  
38€65
Domaine du Closel
2016, Loire - Savennières
Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  

Book Visits and Wine Tastings at the Vineyard

Natural Hours - Runaway
1h  |  up to 8 | 4€00 / Adulte
lesgrappes.com utilise des cookies
Learn more

Les vignerons de sa région

Découvrez tous nos vignerons

Domaine du Closel

Un domaine dirigée par une lignée de vigneronne

Les vignes d'Evelyne de Pontbriand sont situées sur des coteaux perpendiculaires à la Loire,qui bénéficient d'une exposition sud-ouest remarquable. La nature du sol est complexe parfaitement apte à produire de grands vins. Les sols sont formés de schistes verts et pourpres, de roches magmatiques et de grès . Les vignes sont sur des sols chauds et peu profonds. Le cahier...

Lire plus En savoir plus

(49) Maine-et-Loire

Les vignes d'Evelyne de Pontbriand sont situées sur des coteaux perpendiculaires à la Loire,qui bénéficient d'une exposition sud-ouest remarquable. La nature du sol est complexe parfaitement apte à produire de grands vins. Les sols sont formés de schistes verts et pourpres, de roches magmatiques et de grès . Les vignes sont sur des sols chauds et peu profonds. Le cahier des charges de l’AOC Savennières impose des règles très qualitatives en ce qui concerne la culture et la vendange (le Chenin est l'unique cépage autorisé, les vendanges manuelles se font minutieusement par tries et les rendements sont très bas). Le travail qui est fait sur le domaine et certifié par Ecocert et Demeter a pour priorité l’équilibre biologique et le respect des rythmes de la nature. La vie du sol est respectée grâce au labour et à l'enherbement de la vigne. De ce fait les micro-organismes du sol sont actifs, permettant un maximum d’échanges entre le sol et la vigne. C'est grâce à cette combinaison qu'on obtient le fameux effet terroir.

La petite histoire

Le château des Vaults a été bâtit au XVII° siècle, et agrandit au XIX°siècle. Le domaine a appartenu à des familles de la haute bourgeoisie d’Angers, puis à la famille Fourmond Desmazières. Louise Fourmond Desmazières, sans enfants de ses deux époux le Vicomte Walsh et Monsieur de Chamelier, légua la propriété au Marquis de Las Cases (petit fils du biographe de Napoléon), pour sa fille ainée qui épousa Bernard du Closel. Depuis ce moment là, le Château des Vaults et ses vignes sont gérées par les descendantes de Marque de Las Cases-du Closel. Michèle Bazin de Jessey développa le vignoble et créa la société d’exploitation : Les vins du Domaine du Closel à laquelle elle associa ses deux enfants. Aujourd'hui, c'est sa fille, Evelyne de Pontbriand, qui est à la tête du domaine. Cette dynastie de femme est un phénomène plutôt rare dans le monde du vin !

Anecdotes du domaine

Etre vigneronne à Savennières, c'est pour moi, une mission d'accompagnement de la vigne qui dans cet endroit magique est capable de produire les plus grands vins blancs du monde. C'est une très grande responsabilité et cela demande une capacité d'écoute, de remise en question, de prise en compte de la nature qui sont autant d'attitudes très exigeantes. Etre vigneronne à Savennières, c'est mettre la nature au centre du monde tous les jours et être au service de cette liane qu'est Vitis Vinifiera, pour l'amener avec le plus grand respect à produire , ce qu'elle ne produirait jamais à l'état sauvage. Il ne s'agit pas de la domestiquer, ni de la dompter, mais de la sublimer. Les raisins qu'elle nous offre en octobre sont pressés avec le plus grand soin et produisent un jus d'une belle couleur or qui va évoluer à son rythme dans de grosses barriques bourguignonnes sous l'effet de l'oxygène que nous laissons pénétrer à des doses homéopathiques. Les lies fines qui se sont formées pendant la fermentation ainsi que les tannins subtils du chêne protègent le moût qui va progressivement se transformer en un vin raffiné, élégant révélant peu à peu mystérieusement les arômes d'agrumes, de fleurs blanches et de poire avec de grands amers qui sont les compagnons des grands poissons, du homard, des asperges. Je n'ai pas de gourou mais j'aime profondément un homme de goût qui me donne envie tous les matins de faire toujours mieux, d'aller toujours plus loin vers l'excellence, vers l'impossible.De formation littéraire, je suis passionné de musique, de jardins, et de goût. Adepte fervente de la notion de vins de terroirs, c’est à dire des « vins de lieu » j'aime citer cette phrase de Jacques Puisais : « Le vin doit avoir la gueule de l’endroit et les tripes de l’homme… Au fond du verre, je veux retrouver le paysage du lieu où je suis. » Lorsque nous étions enfants, nous buvions avec délectation les verres à moitié vides laissés par les invités de mes grands parents qui recevaient toujours avec des grands crus , une table ravissante et des mets délicieux...le monde du vin que je fréquente, est magnifique, il y a de très belles personnes, qui travaillent sans relâche à produire un plaisir artistique, gustatif et culturel pour les autres.

Achetez vos Vins en Direct

13€15
Domaine du Closel
2013, Loire - Anjou
Chargement en cours...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Ajouter  
20€30
Domaine du Closel
2011, Loire - Vin de France
Chargement en cours...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Ajouter  
27€45
Domaine du Closel
2015, Loire - Savennières
Chargement en cours...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Ajouter  
33€55
Domaine du Closel
2015, Loire - Savennières
Chargement en cours...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Ajouter  
38€65
Domaine du Closel
2016, Loire - Savennières
Chargement en cours...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Ajouter  

Réservez vos Visites et Dégustations

Les Heures Naturelles - Fugue
1h  |  jusqu'à 8 | 4€00 / Adulte
lesgrappes.com utilise des cookies
En savoir plus