Winemakers of his region

Discover all our winemakers

Mas Amiel

(34 ratings)
The Emperor of Natural Sweet Wine

An illustrious estate that has acquired its Biodynamic Biodyvin certification since 2017 (2018 harvest can be claimed in conversion, 2019 harvest 100% certified Biodynamic). At the gates of the Cathar country, MAS AMIEL is protected by the old QUERIBUS citadel, to the north by the Corbières and to the south by the foothills of the Pyrenees. Its climate is unique in France....

Lire plus Learn more

(66) Pyrénées-Orientales

An illustrious estate that has acquired its Biodynamic Biodyvin certification since 2017 (2018 harvest can be claimed in conversion, 2019 harvest 100% certified Biodynamic). At the gates of the Cathar country, MAS AMIEL is protected by the old QUERIBUS citadel, to the north by the Corbières and to the south by the foothills of the Pyrenees. Its climate is unique in France: 260 days of sunshine per year and only 370 mm of rain. MAS AMIEL has built a worldwide reputation with its mutated natural sweet wines. Today, its parcel wines or blends of Maury sec and Côtes du Roussillon appellations are distinguished by the greatest tasters; 170 hectares, 130 of which are historical heritage parcels, MAS AMIEL is rich in the diversity of its terroirs, its landscapes and its 130 parcels. Each parcel of about 2 HA has its own identity (exposure, altitude...), a soil type (schists, calcoschists, gneiss...) and specific grape varieties (Carignan, Grenache, Lladoner Pelut). The work on the plot reveals the incredible potential of MAS AMIEL to create a wide range of dry and sweet wines. The secrets of the great wines of MAS AMIEL: the highly decomposed schists and calcoschists of MAS AMIEL allow the roots to sink deep into the ground. Perfectly adapted to these terroirs, the historical grape varieties, often forgotten, such as Grenache, Carignan or Lladoner pelut (the ancestor of Grenache)... offer a resistance to the wind reinforced by their culture in gobelet which protects them from the rigours of the sun. The venerable age of the vines and the depth of their roots ensure a good water regime for the plant. This is referred to as aromatic depth or length of the wine. The Grenache vine, the oldest, is now a hundred years old ( 1914).

Our story

The story of Mas Amiel begins as in a film: in 1816, around a game table, the Bishop of Perpignan was opposed to a Ponts et Chaussées engineer, Raymond Etienne Amiel. The man of the Church, perhaps out of cash, ended up betting on one of his lands, then called the Domaine des Goudous. Luck is not on his side: his field changes hands and goes back to the engineer. At the end of the 19th century, phylloxera arrived in France and decimated most of the French vineyards. Camille Gouzy, a wine merchant in Millas, found the solution by replanting American vines resistant to phylloxera. He joined forces with the son Amiel and the winegrowers of the Agly valley and offered to save their vines. He then built a cellar on Mas Amiel with about twenty casks representing a total capacity of 7,000 hectolitres. It marks a major expansion of Mas Amiel, making this estate a reference in Roussillon. The estate was then taken over by the Dupuy family, who developed and produced a natural sweet wine under the Mas Amiel brand. The family ensured the continuity of this expansion policy until 1997, when the last son Charles Dupuy died. When Olivier Decelle discovered Mas Amiel one day in October 1999 in the middle of the tramontane, it was love at first sight. The estate then occupies an area of 226 hectares - 155 of which were planted with vines. At that time, production was mainly made up of Natural Sweet Wines - Maury and Muscat de Rivesaltes appellations. Olivier Decelle takes root in the estate, learns the basics of the profession on the job and produces dry wines, Côtes du Roussillon Villages, red and white, a first in Maury. Since then, it has become a model since the Maury Sec AOC is created in 2011 by the NAO. In 2011, a new appellation will finally appear to identify and promote dry wines as opposed to sweet wines in the MAURY sector. Because, if sweet wines were increasingly popular in the 1930s to the point of obscuring any other production, the Maury vineyard has been producing dry wines since the Middle Ages and developed strongly at the beginning of the 19th century. In 2011, with the LÉGENDE cuvée, MAS AMIEL will launch the first dry wine in the history of the MAURY sec appellation.

Other little stories

Olivier DECELLE discovered the MAS AMIEL thanks to Jacques BOISSENOT, a great Médoc oenologist. He falls under the spell of this wild nature and harsh landscapes. In 1999, he left the presidency of PICARD and took up the challenge of restoring the MAS AMIEL to an international stature. Jacques Boissenot has always known that Mas Amiel has a great dry wine terroir. A new cellar, adapted to the vinification requirements of these wines (with thermo-regulated stainless steel vintages in concrete and wood). Claude Bourguignon, agronomist and pioneer in "organic" soil cultivation, accompanied Olivier DECELLE's beginnings and revealed the importance of organic life in the soil to ensure that the terroir is properly expressed. His expertise has convinced us of the relevance of the gradual transition to organic viticulture. Nicolas Raffy, oenologist and manager of Mas Amiel, shares the same vision of working in the vineyard and wine, based on respect for nature and a well-understood manual profession, with tasting as a decision-making tool. For the past 10 years, he has worked extensively on dry wines and has helped to affirm their identity.

Buy Wines Directly from the Winegrower

13€50
Mas Amiel
 9 reviews
2018, Roussillon - Côtes du Roussillon
Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  
16€35
Mas Amiel
 2 reviews
2015, Roussillon - Maury
Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  
20€40
Mas Amiel
2015, Roussillon - Maury
Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  
27€25
Mas Amiel
 2 reviews
2016, Roussillon - Côtes du Roussillon Villages
Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  
34€90
Mas Amiel
Roussillon - Maury
Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  
122€60
Mas Amiel
1969, Roussillon - Maury
Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  
lesgrappes.com utilise des cookies
Learn more

Les vignerons de sa région

Découvrez tous nos vignerons

Mas Amiel

(34 notes)
L'empereur du Vin Doux Naturel

Illustre domaine qui a acquis sa certification Biodynamie Biodyvin depuis 2017 ( vendanges 2018 pourront être revendiquées en conversion, les vendanges 2019 100% certifiées Biodynamie). Aux portes du pays Cathare, MAS AMIEL est protégé par l’ancienne citadelle QUERIBUS, au Nord par les Corbières et au Sud par les contreforts des Pyrénées. Son climat est unique en France...

Lire plus En savoir plus

(66) Pyrénées-Orientales

Illustre domaine qui a acquis sa certification Biodynamie Biodyvin depuis 2017 ( vendanges 2018 pourront être revendiquées en conversion, les vendanges 2019 100% certifiées Biodynamie). Aux portes du pays Cathare, MAS AMIEL est protégé par l’ancienne citadelle QUERIBUS, au Nord par les Corbières et au Sud par les contreforts des Pyrénées. Son climat est unique en France : 260 jours de soleil par an et seulement 370 mm de pluie. MAS AMIEL s’est construit une réputation mondiale avec ses vins doux naturels mutés. Aujourd’hui ses cuvées parcellaires ou d’assemblage en appellations Maury sec et Côtes du Roussillon sont distinguées par les plus grands dégustateurs ; 170 Hectares dont 130 Parcelles Patrimoine historique, MAS AMIEL présente une richesse dans la diversité de ses terroirs, de ses paysages et de ses 130 parcelles. Chaque parcelle d’environ 2 HA possède une identité propre ( exposition, altitude... ), une nature de sol ( schistes, calcoschistes, gneiss... ) et des cépages spécifiques ( Carignan, Grenache, Lladoner Pelut ). Le travail à la parcelle révèle l’incroyable potentiel de MAS AMIEL pour créer une large gamme de vins secs et doux. Les secrets des grands vins du MAS AMIEL : les schistes et calcoschistes du MAS AMIEL fortement décomposés permettent aux racines de s’enfoncer profondément dans le sol. Parfaitement adaptés à ces terroirs, les cépages historiques, souvent oubliés, tels que le Grenache, le Carignan ou le Lladoner pelut ( l’ancêtre du Grenache )… offrent une résistance au vent renforcée par leur culture en gobelet qui les protège des rigueurs du soleil. L’âge vénérable des vignes et la profondeur de leurs racines assurent un bon régime hydrique à la plante. On parle alors de profondeur aromatique ou de longueur du vin. La vigne de Grenache, la plus âgée, est désormais centenaire ( 1914 ).

La petite histoire

L’histoire du Mas Amiel débute comme dans un film : en 1816 autour d’une table de jeu, l’évêque de Perpignan est opposé à un ingénieur des Ponts et Chaussées, Raymond Etienne Amiel. L’homme d’Eglise, peut-être à cours de numéraires, finit par miser l’une de ses terres, alors nommée Domaine des Goudous. La chance n’est pas de son côté : son domaine change de mains et revient à l’ingénieur. A la fin du XIXème siècle, le phylloxera arrive en France et décime la majorité du vignoble français. Camille Gouzy, négociant vigneron de Millas, trouve la solution en replantant des pieds de vignes américaines résistantes au phylloxera. Il s’associe au fils Amiel et aux vignerons de la vallée de l’Agly et leur propose de sauver leurs vignes. Il construit alors sur le Mas Amiel une cave d’une vingtaine de foudres représentant une capacité totale de 7 000 hectolitres. Il marque une expansion majeure du Mas Amiel faisant de ce domaine une référence dans le Roussillon. Le domaine est ensuite repris par la famille Dupuy qui développe et produit un vin doux naturel sous la marque Mas Amiel. La famille assurera la continuité de cette politique d’expansion jusqu’en 1997, date de disparition du dernier fils Charles Dupuy. Lorsque Olivier Decelle découvre le Mas Amiel, un jour d'octobre 1999 en pleine tramontane, c'est un coup de foudre immédiat. Le domaine occupe alors une superficie de 226 hectares - dont 155 plantés de vigne. La production est à cette époque essentiellement constituée de Vins Doux Naturels - appellations Maury et Muscat de Rivesaltes. Olivier Decelle prend racine dans le domaine, il apprend les rudiments du métier sur le tas et produit des vins secs, Côtes du Roussillon Villages, rouges et blancs, une première à Maury. Depuis, il a fait école puisque l'AOC Maury Sec est créée en 2011 par l'lNAO. En 2011, une nouvelle appellation apparaît enfin pour identifier et valoriser les vins secs par opposition aux vins doux dans le secteur de MAURY. Car, si les vins doux connurent un succès grandissant dans les années 30 au point d'occulter toute autre production, le vignoble de Maury produit des vins secs depuis le Moyen Âge et s'est développé fortement au début du XIXe. Dès 2011, avec la cuvée LÉGENDE, le MAS AMIEL lance le premier vin sec de l'histoire en appellation MAURY sec.

Anecdotes du domaine

Olivier DECELLE découvre grâce à Jacques BOISSENOT, grand œnologue Médocain le MAS AMIEL. Il tombe sous le charme de cette nature sauvage et de ces paysages rudes. En 1999, il quitte la présidence de PICARD et relève le défi de redonner au MAS AMIEL une stature internationale. Jacques Boissenot a toujours su que le Mas Amiel dispose d’un grand terroir de vins secs. Une nouvelle cave, adaptée à l’exigence de vinification de ces vins (avec des cuvées thermo régulée en inox en béton et en bois). Claude Bourguignon, ingénieur agronome, précurseur dans le travail des sols en « bio » a accompagné les débuts d’Olivier DECELLE et a révélé l’importance de la vie biologique dans les sols pour garantir une bonne expression du terroir. Son expertise a convaincu de la pertinence du passage progressif en viticulture biologique. Nicolas Raffy, Œnologue et responsable du Mas Amiel partage la même vision du travail de la vigne et du vin, fondée sur le respect de la nature et d’un métier manuel bien compris, avec la dégustation comme outil de décision. Il a depuis 10 ans énormément travaillé sur les vins secs et a contribué à affirmer leur identité.

Achetez vos Vins en Direct

13€45
Mas Amiel
 9 avis
2017, Roussillon - Côtes du Roussillon
Chargement en cours...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Ajouter  
16€35
Mas Amiel
 2 avis
2015, Roussillon - Maury
Chargement en cours...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Ajouter  
18€55
Mas Amiel
 10 avis
2017, Roussillon - Maury
Chargement en cours...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Ajouter  
20€40
Mas Amiel
2015, Roussillon - Maury
Chargement en cours...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Ajouter  
26€75
Mas Amiel
 2 avis
2016, Roussillon - Côtes du Roussillon Villages
Chargement en cours...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Ajouter  
34€90
Mas Amiel
Roussillon - Maury
Chargement en cours...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Ajouter  
122€60
Mas Amiel
1969, Roussillon - Maury
Chargement en cours...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Ajouter  
lesgrappes.com utilise des cookies
En savoir plus