Winemakers of his region

Discover all our winemakers

Domaine Rollan de By

(12 ratings)
Haute Couture du Vin By Jean Guyon

For several years, Jean Guyon practiced his art as an interior designer. At the same time, he developed a real passion for wine, and more particularly for the Médoc. In 1989...

Lire plus Learn more

(33) Gironde

For several years, Jean Guyon practiced his art as an interior designer. At the same time, he developed a real passion for wine, and more particularly for the Médoc. In 1989, he had the opportunity to acquire Chateau Rollan de By (2 hectares) in the north of the Médoc. No winemaker's background, but a solid ambition to produce exceptional wines and above all to create "pleasure" wines. He quickly got into the game, and over the years he bought Château Haut Condissas, Château Tour Seran, Château La Clare and finally gathered 185 hectares since 2012 with the acquisition of Château Greysac, Château de By and Château du Monthil.

Our story

Jean Guyon's philosophy "My choice was to create pleasurable wines: a majority of Merlot gives more supple wines. I have a taste similar to that of a child: I like what is round and tender, I don't like what is tannic. I have based all my work in the vineyard on this result. Rollan de By, it's cake, it's chocolate. When you have a drink, you want to have a second one. You don't say to yourself,'He'll be good in twenty years'. Château Rollan de By is like its owner, powerful and tender.

Other little stories

After working very hard in his vineyard, Jean Guyon was informed by his oenologist in 1995 that it would not be possible to go any further in terms of wine quality. Pitted to the heart of the matter, Jean Guyon decided to identify 2 acres of his best terroirs, where he would apply the same techniques as the Grands Crus, and to do even better. Two years later, he served this wine for a blind tasting, next to Mouton and Lafite Rothschild. Everyone preferred Jean Guyon's wine. It was the Cuvée Château Haut Condissas. From now on, year after year, this wine is still considered a great vintage, within everyone's reach.

Attached to a certain art of living, Jean Guyon is passionate about the arts and hunting. At Domaine Rollan de By, old and new constantly coexist. This is Jean Guyon's real signature. Thus, it is frequent that he travels to the Domain aboard a 1934 Delahaye body in a convertible by the illustrious Labourdette. And at the forefront of modernity, all the cellars, sheds, warehouses and agricultural buildings are covered with solar panels which, invisible from the ground, produce all the energy necessary for the estate....

Buy Wines Directly from the Winegrower

16€35
Domaine Rollan de By
 11 reviews
2011, Bordeaux - Médoc
wine order Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  
17€35
Domaine Rollan de By
 3 reviews
2013, Bordeaux - Médoc
wine order Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  
19€40
Domaine Rollan de By
 8 reviews
2012, Bordeaux - Médoc
wine order Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  
wine order
lesgrappes.com utilise des cookies
Learn more

Les vignerons de sa région

Découvrez tous nos vignerons

Domaine Rollan de By

(12 notes)
“ La Haute Couture du Vin By Jean Guyon ”

Pendant plusieurs années, Jean Guyon exerça son art en tant que décorateur d'intérieur. En parallèle, il développe une véritable passion pour le vin, et plus particulièrement pour le Médoc. En 1989, il a l'opportunité d'acquérir le Chateau Rollan de By (2 hectares) au nord du Médoc. Pas de background de vigneron, mais une solide ambition de produire des vins exceptionne...

Lire plus En savoir plus

(33) Gironde

Question
Jean Guyon @domaine-rollan-de-by---la-haute-couture-du-vin-by-jean-guyon

 Quelques photos de l'émission de RADIO CAP FERRET en présence de Jean Guyon :)

Commentaires
Commenter
Jean Guyon @domaine-rollan-de-by---la-haute-couture-du-vin-by-jean-guyon

 Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur Jean Guyon, n'hésitez pas à lire cet interview : http://urlz.fr/5EdM

Commentaires
Commenter
Jean Guyon @domaine-rollan-de-by---la-haute-couture-du-vin-by-jean-guyon

 Rollan de By Rosé, pour rythmer votre été .. ;) Disponible sur notre boutique http://www.boutique-rollandeby.com/

Commentaires
Commenter
Hadrien  @hadrien0
a un coup de coeur pour   Château Rollan de By

Commentaires
Commenter
Jean Guyon @domaine-rollan-de-by---la-haute-couture-du-vin-by-jean-guyon

 Tasting note for our Chateau Rollan de By 2014 by James Suckling : 91/100

Commentaires
Commenter
Jean Guyon @domaine-rollan-de-by---la-haute-couture-du-vin-by-jean-guyon

 Antonio Galloni from vinous released his new tasting notes on our 2014 Vintage. 92/100 for Château Haut Condissas. Don't miss it ! Antonio Galloni vient de redéguster notre millésime 2014 mis en bouteille. Il a notamment été conquis par le Château Haut Condissas 2014 - 92/100

Commentaires
Commenter

Commentaires
Commenter
Jean Guyon @domaine-rollan-de-by---la-haute-couture-du-vin-by-jean-guyon

 Business trip in Ireland with O'Briens Wine Beer Spirits

Commentaires
Commenter
Jean Guyon @domaine-rollan-de-by---la-haute-couture-du-vin-by-jean-guyon

 Happy Chinese New Year ! Xīn Nián Kuài Lè ! 新年快乐!

Commentaires
Commenter
Jean Guyon @domaine-rollan-de-by---la-haute-couture-du-vin-by-jean-guyon

 Looking for oustanding value wines ? Look for Chateau Rollan de By and Chateau Tour Seran Crus Bourgeois du Médoc http://isaacjamesbaker.blogspot.fr/2017/01/for-bordeaux-bargains-check-out-cru.html - with Isaac James Baker Panos Kakaviatos

For Bordeaux Bargains, Check Out Cru Bourgeois

Commentaires
Commenter
Jean Guyon @domaine-rollan-de-by---la-haute-couture-du-vin-by-jean-guyon

 Panos Kakaviatos highlighted some of his 2014 favourites and we're glad to find our Chateau Haut Condissas among them ! Yes Bordeaux can be good and affordable ! Grand Cercle des Vins de Bordeaux http://wine-chronicles.com/blog/bordeaux-bargains-2014-part-1/

Bordeaux bargains 2014
Part 1 By Panos Kakaviatos for wine-chronicles.com 5 January 2017 Like most of you, when I cannot actually do so, I sometimes dream of enjoying Haut Brion, Latour, Petrus and Le Pin. Or Leoville L…

Commentaires
Commenter

Commentaires
Commenter
Jean Guyon @domaine-rollan-de-by---la-haute-couture-du-vin-by-jean-guyon

 Neal Martin selected our Chateau Tour Seran 2014 among its Top 3 Greatest Value Wines of the Year. 3 Crus Bourgeois du Médoc, as a reminder that Bordeaux still represents unbeatable value once you step away from the top labels. https://winejournal.robertparker.com/best-of-2016-neal-martin

Commentaires
Commenter
Jean Guyon @domaine-rollan-de-by---la-haute-couture-du-vin-by-jean-guyon

 Un grand moment au salon Air France

Commentaires
Commenter
Jean Guyon @domaine-rollan-de-by---la-haute-couture-du-vin-by-jean-guyon

 What about you ? Will you be drinking some Chateau Rollan de By or Chateau Greysac tonight ? Happy Thanksgiving !

Commentaires
Commenter
Plusieurs cuvées vous intéressent ?
Le vigneron offre la livraison dès 6 bouteilles (d’une ou plusieurs références).
Voir tous nos engagements

Bordeaux , Médoc

2011, Rouge - 75cl

(6 notes)
Le mot du Vigneron :

"Le Château Greysac peut s’enorgueillir d’avoir toujours su attirer sur son site des personnalités hors du commun. Georges Héreil, ingénieur brillant qui fut l’un des concepteurs de l’avion..."

Livraison offerte dès 6 btl.

Ajouter au panier

Bordeaux , Médoc

2013, Rouge - 75cl

(1 note)
Le mot du Vigneron :

"Le Chateau La Clare est un vin du Médoc souple, facile à boire."

Livraison offerte dès 6 btl.

Ajouter au panier

Bordeaux , Médoc

2012, Rouge - 75cl

(5 notes)
Le mot du Vigneron :

"Le Château Rollan de By 2012 est un cru bourgeois rond, suave et plein, avec un beau fruit, du fond, et un joli moelleux"

Livraison offerte dès 6 btl.

Ajouter au panier

Le Domaine

Pendant plusieurs années, Jean Guyon exerça son art en tant que décorateur d'intérieur. En parallèle, il développe une véritable passion pour le vin, et plus particulièrement pour le Médoc. En 1989, il a l'opportunité d'acquérir le Chateau Rollan de By (2 hectares) au nord du Médoc. Pas de background de vigneron, mais une solide ambition de produire des vins exceptionnels et surtout de créer des vins "plaisir". Il se prend rapidement au jeu, et au fil des années il rachète le Château Haut Condissas, le Château Tour Seran, le Château La Clare pour finalement rassembler 185 hectares depuis 2012 avec l'acquisition du Château Greysac, du Château de By et du Château du Monthil.

La Petite Histoire

La philosophie de Jean Guyon « Mon choix a été de créer des vins plaisir : une majorité de Merlot donne des vins plus souples. J’ai un goût proche de celui d’un enfant : j’aime ce qui est rond et tendre, je n’aime pas ce qui est tannique. J’ai basé tout mon travail à la vigne sur ce résultat. Rollan de By, c’est du gâteau, du chocolat. Quand tu bois un verre, tu as envie d’en boire un deuxième. On ne se dit pas 'il sera bon dans vingt ans'. Le Château Rollan de By est comme son propriétaire, puissant et tendre.

Anecdotes du domaine

Après avoir travaillé très dur dans sa vigne, Jean Guyon a été informé par son œnologue en 1995, qu'il ne serait pas possible d'aller plus loin en termes de qualité des vins. Piqué au vif, Jean Guyon a décidé d'identifier 2 acres de ses meilleurs terroirs, où il mettrait en œuvre les mêmes techniques que les Grands Crus, et à faire encore mieux. Deux ans plus tard, il a servi ce vin pour une dégustation à l'aveugle, à côté de Mouton et Lafite Rothschild. Tout le monde a préféré le vin de Jean Guyon. Il s'agissait de la Cuvée Château Haut Condissas. Désormais, millésime après millésime, ce vin reste considéré comme un grand cru, à la portée de tous.

Attaché à un certain art de vivre, Jean Guyon est passionné d'arts et de chasse. Au Domaine Rollan de By, l'ancien et le moderne cohabitent constamment. C'est la vraie signature de Jean Guyon. Ainsi, il est fréquent qu'il se déplace au Domaine à bord d'une Delahaye 1934 carrossée en cabriolet par l'illustre Labourdette. Et à la pointe de la modernité, tous les chais, hangars, entrepôts et bâtiments agricoles sont recouverts de panneaux solaires qui, invisibles depuis le sol, produisent toute l'énergie nécessaire au domaine...

lesgrappes.com utilise des cookies
en savoir plus