Winemakers of his region

Discover all our winemakers

MAS JANEIL

(11 ratings)
Small by the size big by the wine

The Mas Janeil estate straddles a geological fault and contains a multitude of different soils and subsoils. Some plots in the granite and limestone scree of the Quéribus cliff are almost inaccessible!

Lire plus Learn more

(66) Pyrénées-Orientales

The Mas Janeil estate straddles a geological fault and there are many different soils and subsoils (schists, of course, but also limestone and granite.....) all on a steep slope to the south. Some plots in the granite and limestone scree of the Quéribus cliff are almost inaccessible! A semi-organic cultivation method induced by my knowledge of Biodynamics is applied. The fertilizers are organic (compost) and we cross ploughing to avoid grass (no herbicides). Yields are so low that we cannot accept competition from weeds. I push for the development of hedges between plots to block a little the dishevelled wind (tramontane) that often sweeps us away. But also to maintain a fauna and flora (especially the aromatic species, rosemary, thyme, laurel...) that participate in the life of the vine. I have a plot, the highest, where the wind is so strong that the vines have remained very small like "Bonsais"! I vinify the grapes separately. It is the "Pas de la Mule" (so called because it was a passage of Mule in the cliff to go to Cucugnan).

Our story

First tenant for 10 years and then retired from the previous owner, I bought the best plots of land in the estate, 30 hectares, as well as 60 hectares of barren moors that allow me to keep our friends the wild boars! No, but it was a whole and I kept access to the springs of the estate which later allowed me to set up irrigation on the driest plots. For a Bordeaux native well accustomed to high vine densities and profitable yields, this was a shock. I had to review several of my ways of thinking both in the vineyard and in the cellar. Fortunately, I had worked in other terroirs and I arrived with a very open mind. That is why I built a brand new winery to be able to apply a personal working method, very inspired by tradition, of course, but also with things like cold maceration in whole bunches, of which I am apparently the only user in this region.

Other little stories

It is a family business, for 4 generations the Lurton family, always winegrowers, have developed a large number of original and revolutionary techniques for the vine and the cellar. Damn it, you can't lie, as they say! Moreover, from the beginning of my new winery in 2011 I refused to use sulphur before and during fermentation. I have developed an original working technique that avoids all the defects inherent in wines not protected by sulphur. "François Lurton has taken up the challenge in his Mas Janeil. Fan of sulphur-free wines and skeptical of plain wines, test this one its juicy fruit will bring everyone in agreement" says Sylvie Tonnaire in wine lands. "Or Michel Bettane" they have a lead in viticulture, winemaking and maturing that makes them by far the best currently." In good Bordeaux I know how to make red wines but born in the middle of two seas, land of white wines, I am very attracted by white grape varieties. I think that the white wines of Roussillon are even more original than the reds. They have their own expression that differentiates them from the rest of the world and makes them unique wines. So I replanted several white plots (white and grey grenache, macabeu...). The volumes are small but the wines are remarkable. We vinify them in 1/2 muy and eggs. I love these containers that I have been working for more than 10 years in other vineyards. They give a lot of creaminess to the wine and really allow the origin and terroir to show through. Here again Michel Bettane expresses himself better than me. "a perfect definition of local grape varieties.......the originality of true great wines..... We will admire the way the wood is integrated and the intensity of the texture. François Lurton opens a royal path for these colleagues if they share the same requirement."

"Requirement" would, I think, be the key word. Today, excellence no longer leaves any room for chance. You have to be natural, neat and caring. Nature will only express itself if it is given the means to do so.

Buy Wines Directly from the Winegrower

8€50
MAS JANEIL
2018, Languedoc - Pays d'Oc
Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  
8€50
MAS JANEIL
2017, Languedoc - Pays d'Oc
Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  
8€50
MAS JANEIL
 11 reviews
2017, Languedoc - Pays d'Oc
Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  
12€75
MAS JANEIL
 5 reviews
2015, Roussillon - Côtes du Roussillon
Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  
12€75
MAS JANEIL
 1 reviews
2017, Roussillon - Côtes du Roussillon
Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  
16€30
MAS JANEIL
 2 reviews
2017, Roussillon - Côtes du Roussillon Villages
Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  
22€45
MAS JANEIL
2013, Roussillon - Côtes du Roussillon Villages
Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  
26€50
MAS JANEIL
2014, Roussillon - Côtes du Roussillon
Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  
56€10
MAS JANEIL
 2 reviews
2010, Roussillon - Côtes du Roussillon Villages
Loading...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Add  
lesgrappes.com utilise des cookies
Learn more

Les vignerons de sa région

Découvrez tous nos vignerons

MAS JANEIL

(11 notes)
Petit par la taille grand par le vin

Le domaine du Mas Janeil est à cheval sur une faille géologique et on y retrouve une multitudes de sols et sous-sols différents. Certaines parcelles dans les éboulis de granit et calcaire de la falaise de Quéribus sont presque inaccessibles !

Lire plus En savoir plus

(66) Pyrénées-Orientales

Le domaine du Mas Janeil est à cheval sur une faille géologique et on y retrouve une multitudes de sols et sous-sols différents (schistes, bien sûr, mais calcaire et aussi granit....) tous en pente forte au sud. Certaines parcelles dans les éboulis de granit et calcaire de la falaise de Quéribus sont presque inaccessibles! On y applique une méthode culturale semi organique induite de ma connaissance de la Biodynamie. Les fertilisants sont bio (compost) et on croise les labours pour éviter l'herbe (pas d'herbicides). Les rendements étant si faibles l'on ne peut pas accepter de concurrence des mauvaises herbes. Je pousse au développement des haies entre parcelles pour bloquer un peu le vent décoiffant (tramontane) qui nous balaye souvent. Mais aussi pour maintenir une faune et une flore (surtout les espèces aromatiques, romarin, thym, laurier...) qui participent à la vie de la vigne. J'ai une parcelle , la plus haute, où le vent est si fort que les vignes sont restées toutes petites comme des "Bonsaïs"! J'en vinifie les raisins à part. C'est le "Pas de la Mule" (appelé ainsi car c'était un passage de Mule dans la falaise pour aller vers Cucugnan).

La petite histoire

D'abord locataire pendant 10 ans puis à la retraite du précédent propriétaire, je rachète les meilleures parcelles du domaine, 30 hectares, ainsi que 60 hectares de landes incultes qui me permettent de garder nos amis les sangliers! Non mais cela faisait un tout et je gardais l'accès aux sources du domaine qui par la suite m'ont permis de mettre l'irrigation en place sur les parcelles les plus arides. Pour un Bordelais bien habitué aux densités élevées de pieds de vigne, aux rendements rentables, cela a été un choc. Il m'a fallu revoir plusieurs de mes manières de penser autant dans la vigne que dans le chai. Heureusement, j'avais roulé ma bosse dans d'autres terroirs et je suis arrivé avec une grande ouverture d'esprit. C'est pourquoi j'ai construit un chai tout neuf pour pouvoir appliquer une méthode personnelle de travail, très inspirée de la tradition bien-sûr, mais aussi avec des choses comme les macérations à froid en grappes entières dont je suis semble-t-il l'unique utilisateur dans cette région.

Anecdotes du domaine

C'est de famille, depuis 4 générations les Lurton, toujours viticulteurs, ont développé un grand nombre de techniques originales et révolutionnaires pour la vigne et le chai. Bon sang ne saurait mentir, comme on dit! D'ailleurs dès le début de mon nouveau chai en 2011 j'ai refusé de me servir du souffre avant et pendant les fermentations. J'ai développé une technique originale de travail qui évite tous les défauts inhérents aux vins non protégés par le souffre. "François Lurton a relevé le défi en son Mas Janeil. Fan de vins sans soufre et sceptique des vins natures, testez celui-ci son fruit juteux mettra tout le monde d'accord" dit Sylvie Tonnaire dans terres de vins. "Ou encore Michel Bettane" ils ont une avance en matière de viticulture, de vinification et d'élevage qui en fait de loin les meilleurs actuellement." En bon bordelais je sais faire des vins rouges mais né dans l'entre deux mers, terre de vins blancs, je suis très attiré par les cépages blancs. Je pense d'ailleurs que les vins blancs du Roussillon sont encore plus originaux que les rouges. Ils ont une expression propre qui les différencie du reste du monde et en fait des vins uniques. J'ai donc replanté plusieurs parcelles en blanc (grenache blanc et gris, macabeu...). Les volumes sont petits mais les vins remarquables. Nous les vinifions dans des 1/2 muy et dans des oeufs. J'adore ces contenants que je travaille depuis plus de 10 ans dans d'autres vignobles. Ils donnent beaucoup de crémeux au vin et permettent vraiment de laisser transparaître l'origine et le terroir. Là encore Michel Bettane s'exprime mieux que moi. " une parfaite définition des cépages locaux.....l'originalité des vrais grands vins.... On admirera la façon dont le bois est intégré et l'intensité de la texture. François Lurton ouvre une voie royale à ces collègues s'ils partagent la même exigence." "Exigence" serait, je pense, le maître mot. Aujourd'hui l'excellence ne laisse plus aucune place au hasard. Il faut être naturel, soigné et attentionné. La nature ne s'exprimera que si on lui en donne les moyens.

Achetez vos Vins en Direct

8€50
MAS JANEIL
2016, Languedoc - Pays d'Oc
Chargement en cours...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Ajouter  
8€50
MAS JANEIL
2016, Languedoc - Pays d'Oc
Chargement en cours...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Ajouter  
8€50
MAS JANEIL
 11 avis
2017, Languedoc - Pays d'Oc
Chargement en cours...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Ajouter  
12€75
MAS JANEIL
 5 avis
2015, Roussillon - Côtes du Roussillon
Chargement en cours...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Ajouter  
12€75
MAS JANEIL
 1 avis
2017, Roussillon - Côtes du Roussillon
Chargement en cours...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Ajouter  
16€30
MAS JANEIL
 2 avis
2016, Roussillon - Côtes du Roussillon Villages
Chargement en cours...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Ajouter  
22€45
MAS JANEIL
2013, Roussillon - Côtes du Roussillon Villages
Chargement en cours...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Ajouter  
26€50
MAS JANEIL
2014, Roussillon - Côtes du Roussillon
Chargement en cours...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Ajouter  
56€10
MAS JANEIL
 2 avis
2010, Roussillon - Côtes du Roussillon Villages
Chargement en cours...
Ajouté à la selection :
  Ajouter  
lesgrappes.com utilise des cookies
En savoir plus